The “Mom, I’m fat” issue

January 13, 2012

As women, we all have numerous complaints about our bodies. The number of complaints probably increase after giving birth to a baby. I loved my belly while I was pregnant, was amazed at how perfect the human body is, but constantly complain mentally and verbally about my post baby body.

Like the author of this article, I believe 100%  in girl power, self-esteem, internal beauty, you name it. But I also believe that the way you feel about yourself, including your looks, influence your self esteem and how you project yourself onto others. That this influences how you relate to people, make new friends, ace interviews and get jobs.

I cannot imagine how difficult it will be to not send mixed messages to my kids.

I do hope I will be able to communicate verbally and through example, that health includes mind, body and soul. That exercise is good for you and that it makes you happy and feel great about yourself. That being smart and having diverse interests as a girl is important in a society that links women almost always to looks and fashion. That fashion is very cool, that cooking is very cool and that debating is very cool too. I hope I’ll be able to teach my kids what my favorite new book I read to my son says: “Thank you for the skin I came in, it’s nice and tight, it fits exaclty right. Thank you for me.”(The title of the book is “Thank you for me”).

Being a parent is tough. Being a mother is tougher (I’m just slightly biased). I hear it’s tougher to raise girls than boys. Who knows…

I will definitely read and re-read this mother’s response, print it and bookmark it for when my nieces and unborn daughters tell me “I’m fat.”

Coolest stuff.

Leave a Reply

